//
you're reading...
News

Plaque for Charlotte Jolles

A guest contribution by Helen Chambers who writes:

“Colleagues may be interested to know that a plaque was unveiled last Sunday, 21 September on the house in  Grossbeeren Str. 82 in Berlin Kreuzberg where Professor Charlotte Jolles of Birkbeck College lived as a child and young woman. She was and remains leading figure in Fontane studies.
I hope some of you will have the opportunity to go and see it. The Berliner Gedenktafel was made by the KPM Berlin. A fitting tribute.”

Memorial Plaque for Charlotte Jolles in Berlin

Memorial Plaque for Charlotte Jolles in Berlin

About Henrike Lähnemann

Willkommen! I am a Germanist, medievalist and Chair of "Women in German Studies". I am based at Oxford in the Faculty of Medieval and Modern Languages and St Edmund Hall.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Plaque for Charlotte Jolles

  1. Meine Tochter hat dies zufällig im Internet gefunden und an mich weitergeleitet. Charlotte Jolles war eine Kusine meiner Mutter, für uns war sie Tante Lotte. Sie war der Anlaß, daß ich 1967 nach London ging und dort meinen Mann kennenlernte, und seitdem dort wohne. Meine Mutter verstarb im Jahre 2000 in Köln, meine Geburtsstadt. Mein Bruder wohnt in Oberursel, und dies wird ihn auch interessieren, denn er besuchte Tante Lotte in London regelmäßig viele Jahre.

    Posted by Ursula Dias | March 2, 2015, 4:32 pm
  2. Liebe Frau Dias, herzlichen Dank für Ihren Kommentar – es gibt solchen Plaketten einen ganz anderen Bezug, wenn eine persönliche Familiengeschichte dahinter sichtbar wird. Gern würde ich mehr erfahren – vielleicht ließe sich gelegentlich ein Treffen in London arrangieren – oder in Oxford. Ihre Henrike Lähnemann

    Posted by Henrike Lähnemann | April 21, 2015, 10:06 am

Leave a Reply

