//
you're reading...
General

A personal history in 190 objects: from Germany to the British Museum and back again

Great to see Käthe Kollwitz figure prominently in the series!

British Museum blog

Paul Kobrak, series producer, Germany: memories of a nation, BBC Radio 4

To say that it was a life-changing moment would be to seriously over-egg it. But being made the second producer on a then unheard-of project in September 2009 gave my BBC career a much-needed shot in the arm. By then I’d already celebrated my 21st ‘radio’ birthday (I started working at the BBC in 1988) and I’d been making documentaries for more than 10 years. I was beginning to wonder where I could possibly go next.

Four months later A History of the World in 100 Objects began its life on Radio 4. I doubt I’ll ever work on another project that has the same impact. Not because others would not be equally good, or just as fascinating and challenging; rather that none would break new ground in the same way nor match the scope. And its…

View original post 816 more words

About Henrike Lähnemann

Willkommen! I am a Germanist, medievalist and Chair of "Women in German Studies". I am based at Oxford in the Faculty of Medieval and Modern Languages and St Edmund Hall.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

