//
you're reading...
General, News

Introducing Our New Secretary: Katya Krylova, University of Nottingham

As announced in the previous WIGS blog post, I will be taking over from Helen Finch as Secretary of WIGS. I would like to thank Helen for all her hard work, dedication and commitment to WIGS over the past four years. It is a huge honour to follow in her footsteps and to be able to work, in conjunction with all of the WIGS committee, on behalf of female Germanists in Great Britain and Ireland. WIGS is an association of which I’ve been a member for several years, and whose values of bringing together and supporting female Germanists in all aspects of their professional lives I passionately support. I am delighted to have been elected Secretary of an organisation with such a rich ‘herstory’.

As some of you will know, I am a Leverhulme Trust Early Career Fellow in the Department of German Studies at the University of Nottingham, working on a project entitled ‘The Treatment of the Past and Austrian Identity in Contemporary Austrian Literature, Film and Culture’. You can find out more about my work here. As WIGS secretary the key focus of my role will be to promote and support WIGS in all of its activities, and I bring with me a range of organisational and communication experience (from organising a conference and other events, to outreach work in schools, blogging and social media skills).

A key aspect of my role will be that of communicating with members, and so do expect to hear a lot more from me over the coming months! Please keep me posted with your news, which I will be collating for the WIGS Annual General Meeting and for the WIGS newsletter. If there is something that you would like to see in the WIGS newsletter, which is not currently featured, please let me know. For more immediate communication, if there is an event, CfP, or any other matter that you wish to draw to the attention of WIGS members, please email me at katya.krylova@cantab.net, and I will ensure that it is communicated to members via the WIGS blog and our Facebook and Twitter accounts. I also encourage members who have not yet done so, and others interested in WIGS activities, to join the WIGS JISCmail list. If you have further suggestions for how you would like to be kept updated about WIGS news and activities, please let me know.

As an early career researcher, I have a keen understanding of the concerns of postgraduates and early career academics, and will seek to work in conjunction with the WIGS Postgraduate and Early Career representatives, and indeed with all of the WIGS committee, to address the needs of postgraduate and early career members.

I am also keen to raise awareness of our association amongst potential members, be they new postgraduates in German Studies, academics with a German Studies focus working in departments such as History and Comparative Literature, schoolteachers, translators, and anyone else who would benefit from being part of the association.

I very much look forward to working with you all and to seeing many of you at this year’s WIGS conference in Durham.

IMGP0210copywigs

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

